by Leah Jackson

Members of Northwestern State University’s Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity and Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority were recognized as recipients of David D. Morgan and Sherry Fargerson Morgan Extra Mile Scholarships and First Generation Scholarships during a program April 7 that highlighted the accomplishments of student leaders committed to “going the extra mile.”

Established in 2008, the Extra Mile Scholarship was created by David Morgan, a 1973 graduate of NSU and alum of the Beta Omicron Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi.  Consideration is given to those who distinguished themselves in academic success, chapter leadership, campus involvement and part-time employment.

The Sherry Fargerson Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship recognizes academic performance while encouraging active and sustained engagement at NSU, the Natchitoches community and within Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority.  The scholarship was established in 2017 in honor of Mrs. Morgan, NSU graduate and alumna of the Alpha Zeta Chapter.  The award is presented to collegiate members who best exemplify the ideals of scholarship, service and character.

Students who received Extra Mile Scholarships are Meghan Woods of Monroe, Trace Anthon of Hammond, Zoe Johnson of Patterson, Abigail Ramos of Denham Springs, Schuyler Mason of Shreveport, Gabriella Lawrence of Bossier City, Chandler Milligan of Shreveport, Joseph Adams of Wills Point, Texas; Linzi Lampert of Deville, Sydney Salzer of Bossier City, Colby Grayson of Bossier City, McKenzie Knotts of Keithville, Emma Cockrum of Prairieville, Jonatan Jimenez of Bossier City, Natalee Cook of Vivian, Andrew Dubriske of Hot Springs, Arkansas; Grace Gosserand of Ventress, Travis Jimenez of Belcher and Katelyn Kennedy of Baker. Travis Jimenez and Katelyn Kennedy were the top scholarship recipients.

The Morgan First Generation Scholarships were created in 2018 to assist members of Pi Kapap Phi and Sigma Sigma Sigma who are the first in their families to attend college.  Recipients for 2022 are Trace Anthon of Hammond, Javier Garcia of Bossier City, Jonatan Jiminez of Bossier City, Travis Jimenez of Belcher, Abigail Lawrence of Bossier City, Gabriella Lawrence of Bossier City, Josephine Martinez of Shreveport and Emmett Nobles of Natchitoches.

Guest speakers were Mark E. Timmes, CEO of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity, and Natalie Averett, national president of Sigma Sigma Sigma.  NSU President Dr. Marcus Jones and David Morgan also provided remarks.  Pi Kappa Phi alum Wes Breeden offered welcome and closing remarks. Sigma Sigma Sigma chapter advisor Jacque Crew, Pi Kappa Phi Chapter Advisor Doug Ireland and Drake Owens, assistant vice president for External Affairs presented the honors to recipients.

Earlier in the day, the Morgans announced a donation of $1.5 million that will go toward Northwestern State’s new athletic strength and conditioning facility, which will be christened the David & Sherry Morgan Health Performance Center. The Morgans’ gift is the single-largest private gift in Northwestern State Athletics history.



Southern Heritage Bank Home Sweet Home Banner Ad 6.23.21
Generac Banner Ad for Affiliate Link Banner Ad
Cunningham Copiers
Bayou Mosquito Licensed to Kill Banner 12.14.20